Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

August 24, 2023 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday August 24, 2023 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Tracy Seeman, County, Jennifer Zahradnik, County, Jon Kaestner, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Jared Vogeler, Van Horne, Loras Schulte, Norway, Nancy Jensen, County, Doug Luzbatek, HLW, Terry Hertle, County, and Dave Fish, Belle Plaine.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Kaestner seconded by Jensen to approve the July 20, 2023 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Hertle, seconded by Kearns to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

Doug from HLW gave a report about the progress of the new cell construction.

The Landfill Manager's Report included equipment maintenance, auditor was onsite, tires were picked up, DNR visit, equipment software and hauling dirt in. Motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Hertle to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report was sent by email prior to the meeting. Motion made by Fish, seconded by Zahradnik to approve the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2023-08-01: Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Jensen to approve Resolution 2023-08-02: Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2023-08-03: Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by McNulty, seconded by Zahradnik to approve a credit account for Kluesner Sanitation. All Ayes.

Motion made by Hertle, seconded by Seeman to approve Change Order #1. All Ayes.

Motion to adjourn made by Fish, seconded by Seeman. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 6:48 PM.

Chairperson			